Kundalini Yoga: Awakening Your Soul
Are you a Hollywood Psychics customer? Sign in now.

Kundalini Yoga: Awakening Your Soul

April 05, 2021
A focus on breathing and mindfulness makes Kundalini yoga good for the soul.

"I don't want to feel more at peace" — said no one ever.

The bustle and stresses of modern life can have anyone feeling anxious and adrift. Wouldn't it be great if there was a way to feel more connected to your body and soul? Great news, there is, and it's called Kundalini yoga. Here's how this practice can awaken your spiritual energy and create more peace in your life.

What Is Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini yoga is a type of yoga that combines breath, movement, and sound. The name of the practice comes from the Sanskrit word "kundal," which means "coiled energy." We all have energy gathered at our spine's base. By practicing this type of yoga, we can bring that energy up our spine, then through our seven chakras and out of our head's crown.

Kundalini Yoga Practices

Kundalini yoga comes with a whole slew of challenging breath exercises. Those breath exercises come together with different postures and meditation. You'll go through the different breaths, postures, and meditations for a long period of time, getting the energy moving around your body.

There are six main components of Kundalini yoga, practiced in this order:

  1. Opening chant: Every session starts with a chant, which is also called "tuning in."
  2. Pranayama: This warmup component teaches breath control. You might also do some movements to stretch your spine.
  3. Kriya: Kriyas are sequences of postures, pranayama (breathing exercises), mudras (hand positions), meditation, and sounds.
  4. Relaxation: A set relaxation period lets your mind and body absorb the kriyas' effects.
  5. Meditation: Guided meditation helps to cultivate mindfulness and awareness.
  6. Closing chant: Every Kundalini yoga session will also end with a chant.

All in all, you can expect a meditation-heavy session when you try Kundalini yoga. Every set during a class includes different poses, and those poses all involve movement, breathing, mindfulness, and mantras. You'll get a minute or so between postures to relax and bring your focus inward.

How Does Kundalini Yoga Differ From Other Types of Yoga?

Kundalini yoga might seem a bit different than other forms of yoga you've practiced before. This type of yoga is more spiritual. Though you'll still do physical movements with Kundalini yoga, movements aren't the primary focus. Speaking with a Psychic Advisor can help you figure out the right yoga practices that work with your unique lifestyle.

If you've practiced a more traditional style of yoga before, you're prob used to the movements flowing with your breath. When it comes to Kundalini yoga, though, the practice is more repetitive and precise. Chanting and singing, moving, and breathing all take place in set patterns with Kundalini yoga.

Benefits of Practicing Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga offers various benefits, including:

  • Relief from anxiety and stress.
  • Improved cognitive function.
  • Better self-perception.
  • Spiritual awakening.

That last point deserves some more attention. As your Kundalini energy awakens, you become more connected with yourself and others in a spiritual sense. That awakening in turn leads to: 

  • Increased empathy.
  • Enhanced creativity.
  • More charisma.
  • Boosted energy.
  • Internal peace.

Getting a psychic reading can enhance these spiritual benefits. Speak with a PathForward Psychic today for tips to get started on your spiritual journey.

Share Your Thoughts

Drop a line, share your insight, and keep the convo going! Sign in or create an account to leave a comment on this content and more.


No comments yet. Be the first!

Back to The Tea Home